RSS Feed

Nutella chocolate chip whole wheat pancakes with fried banana and honey

I could also have titled this: This is How To Do Brunch

Love at first bite

Recipe Adapted from For the Love of Cooking

Pancakes (makes about 3 large pancakes): 

  • 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1/8 cup of sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/4 cup of nutella
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup of semisweet chocolate chips
  • oil/butter for coating

Fried Banana:

  • 1 not-so-ripe (yellow-not-brown) banana
  • oil/butter for coating

Method:

Heat pan for pancakes on medium heat
Whisk dry ingredients together: flour, sugar, baking powder, salt
Whisk wet ingredients together except nutella: egg, milk, vanilla
Add wet to dry and mix
Add nutella
This may come out a bit runny- that is OK!

Oil/butter to coat pan if needed
Pour batter onto heated pan- add chocolate chips.
If you add the chocolate chips while mixing, they may all fall to the bottom of the batter if it comes out thin. This makes the last pancake amazing but the rest are basically chocolate-chip-less and who wants that? No one. Especially your inner child.

How to know when to flip a pancake:
There is a certain art to pancakes. It seems that when you see bubbles on the pancake and/or when the sides seem to solidify, that is when you can flip a pancake. The longer I cook the more I find out that there are basic “rules” but it has a lot to do with preferences- if you want sturdy/burnt pancakes or light pancakes, etc.

How to flip a pancake:
Usually using a spatula, but I honestly don’t know. I say a little prayer (or cuss word) every time. I have managed to flip one or two from the pan into the air and have it land on the pan again. That is the personally preferred method, but the rarity.

Frying a Banana:
Peel the yellow banana
Slice the banana into about half inch rounds (you want it to be semi-thick)
Using the same pan from the pancakes, if needed, coat with butter/oil
Place slices on pan
Listen to the sizzle for about a minute or two
Flip slices – they should be semi- brown
About a minute or two more then remove them from heat/pan

Add Fried Banana to the Pancakes and drizzle with honey!

All-in-all this took about 20 minutes.

A few more thoughts on this experience:

Pancakes are not sweet. It seems that no matter what I add, they are more bready than sweet. Even with the nutella, this was not a sweet pancake. And this is ok! This means it needs something. Usually a sweet fruit or syrup (I love honey on my pancakes).

I couldn’t sleep last night in part to dreaming about this recipe! (I also seem to have the runniest nose since childhood- have you tried to sleep with a runny nose? Ridiculous.) So I took some night-time medicine and woke up at 9:15am.
9:15 am!!

So, I did some yoga, cooked and  enjoyed these pancakes on the porch around 10:45am in the 60 degree weather sitting in the sunshine. Needless to say (but we say it anyway), I am a happy camper!

Saving the best bite for last

Saving the best bite for last

While chewing on my brunch, I chewed on some thoughts as well. I loved this morning. I loved the time of it all. I love the leisure in the accomplishments. This led me to think about what I do. I love what I do. I love the moments in my life- from my job and those I work with, where I live, what I do at my church- why would I not do what I do? Why would I not chose to participate in my life?

IMG_7139

I know there will be days that I don’t want to be present in my life. But today is not one of them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

